Sunday, March 15, 2015

Sixth edition of the Namma #Bengaluru Awards

Sixth edition of the Namma Bengaluru Awards, an initiative to recognize and honor extraordinary work towards development of the city, had a shortlist of 70 finalists from the 76,250 nominations received.

This Year’s Namma Bengalurean Award was conferred upon Kathyayini Chamaraj, Executive Trustee of CIVIC, Bangalore, a freelance journalist who has been writing for over 23 years on development issues. She has worked extensively with the Government of Karnataka on child labour and primary education and is involved with several organizations and social movements, especially the Right to Food and Work Campaign, and has been a great asset to the development of our city, Bengaluru.

Shri Balegowda for Govt. Individual Category, Shri P G Bhat for Citizen Individual Category, Surendran Murugananda Krishnan & Shubhendu Sharma for Citizen Youth Category, LabourNet for Social Entrepreneur Category, Akshara Foundation for NGO Category, Whitefield Rising for RWA/CBO Category, CK Ramamurthy for Elected Representative Category, Canara Bank for CSR Category, NIMHANS for Govt. Organization, Sean Blagsvedt for Foreign Resident in Bengaluru, B T Lakshman for Non-Resident Bengalurean, Prajavani for Media Organization Category and Vijayalakshmi Shibaroor for Media Individual Category were other winners for their respective categories.

 An initiative of the Namma Bengaluru Foundation (NBF), the Namma Bengaluru Awards are aimed at recognizing selfless contributions by Bengalureans who have contributed immensely to the growth of our city and has been recognized by people and the media for its unique concept and become a benchmark for applauding the selfless efforts of ordinary citizens.