Tuesday, January 27, 2015

Election Commission of India (ECI) gives National CSO Award to ADR and NEW

 The Election Commission of India (ECI) awarded the prestigious ‘National CSO Award – 2015’ for “Best Voter Education and Awareness for General Election to Lok Sabha 2014” to National Election Watch and Association for Democratic Reforms.

ADR Founder Trustees Prof. Jagdeep Chhokar and Ajit Ranade, and Maj. Gen. Anil Verma (Retd.), Head, ADR, received the award from the hands of honourable former President Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam on the occasion of ECI’s 5th National Voter’s Day celebrations held at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium, New Delhi. The NEW chapters of Bihar, Odisha, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra and Uttar Pradesh have received special mention in the award for their expansive and innovative campaigns to reach out to the voters.
The intensive Voter Awareness campaign named “Mera Vote Mera Desh” was launched by NEW and ADR in February 2014 and continued till the polling for 2014 Lok Sabha ended. The Campaign was undertaken in almost every state of the country through the local state chapter of NEW to educate voters on the background details of candidates and build public opinion on the need for de-criminalization and reduction of money power in politics.