Wednesday, August 13, 2014

Political parties are hiding PAN details of their 20k plus doners;ADR

None of the 346 donors from Delhi, who donated a total of Rs 2.16 crores to INC revealed their PAN details. None of the members of INC who have donated to the party have declared their PAN details. This includes former Prime Minister, President of INC, and Ministers. Prominent members are Dr Abhishek Manu Singhvi, Sachin Pilot, Ms Meenakshi Natarajan, A.K.Antony, Jyotiraditya Scindia among others.
CPI has 3 donors donating Rs 4.21 lakhs without PAN details and AAP with 6 donors who contributed Rs 1.62 lakhs without providing their PAN details.
At the national level, all the six national parties viz., Congress,  Bharatiya Janata Party, Nationalist Congress Party, Bahujan Samaj Party,  CPI and CPM together received Rs. 99.14 crores from 3,777 donors who made a contribution above Rs. 20,000.The regional parties received Rs. 6.45 crores from 234 donors who donated above Rs. 20,000.
ADR further noted that BSP (Bahujan Samaj Party) did not receive any donation above Rs. 20,000 in the financial year 2012-2013 as per records  provided by the party.
It added: "Among the regional parties SAD (Shiromani Akali Dal) had the maximum number of donors (62) from all over India who donated Rs. 1.81 crores followed by AAP with 59 donors contributing Rs. 73.94 lakhs and RLD with 56 donors  contributing Rs.1.09 crores. The maximum amount was declared by Samajwadi  Party where only 12 donors donated Rs. 2.24 crores."
Interesting to note that the Supreme Court gave a judgment on September 13, 2013 declaring that no part of a candidate’s affidavit should be left blank. Similarly, no part of the Form 24A submitted by political parties providing details of donations above Rs 20,000 should be blank.