Saturday, August 9, 2014

Subhash C Bose, Vajpayee. Kanshiram and MM Malviya may get #Bharat Ratna

Breaking the Congress tradition of awarding Bharat Ratna to political leaders of Congress ideologies, Modi led NDA is likely to honour non-congress leaders like Subhash C Bose, Vajpayee. Kanshiram and MM Malviya with nation's highest civilian honour Bharat Ratna. The government is learnt to have ordered five Bharat Ratna medallions from the RBI mint. The name of the fifth recipient is not known so far.
Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose was awarded Bharat Ratna posthumously in 1992. The award was later withdrawn in response to a Supreme Court of India directive following a Public Interest Litigation filed in the Court against the posthumous nature of the award. The Award Committee could not give conclusive evidence of Bose’s death and thus it invalidated the posthumous award.

Pandit Madan Mohan Malaviya was born in the year 1861 and died in the 1946. He was a great Indian educationist and freedom fighter, distinguished from others for his significant role in the Indian independence and his support of Hindu nationalism.He became the Indian National Congress president four times in 1909, 1918, 1930 and 1932. He had started the Scouting inspired organization known as the Seva Samithi. He appeared in the court for saving 177 freedom fighters in the Chouri-choura case. He met with the Annie Besant in 1911 and determined to work on a common Hindu University at Benares.
Dalit icon, Kanshiram (1934–2006) is regarded as being next only to Ambedkar today. He founded  the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), which, in just a short period, ended up as one of India's major political formations, shaking up the Congress in the state which matters, Uttar Pradesh, and beyond.
Atal Bihari Vajpayee, (PM of India from 1998-2004) ,the first Prime Miniter with a non- Congress background to serve the country for six whole years.On 11th May and 13th May 1998 NDA Government under Atal Bihari Vajpayee conducted Nuclear Tests at Pokhran.
Bharat Ratna is the Republic of India’s highest civilian award, for performance of highest order in any field of human endeavour.
Till date 41 Persons have been conferred Bharat Ratna award, inlcluding Khan Abdul Gaffar Khan and Nelson Mandela, the two non-citizens of India.